Weekly Announcements  - Friday, February 5, 2016

REMINDER:  The school will be closed next Friday, February 12, for a Faculty Planning Day, and will remain closed on Monday, February 15, in observance of the Presidents’ Day holiday.

**********

We urge all school families to drive and park safely, follow traffic and parking rules and be considerate of our neighbors at Portside Towers and here in Paulus Hook, especially as we are all trying to manage in the snow and bad weather.

Please do not block driveways or the street as you briefly park to drop off your children, and please do not park in the middle of the street.

Please follow these specific rules to maintain safe driving, parking and walking for everyone:

  • DO NOT triple park anywhere.
  • DO NOT double park on the far side of the street.
  • IF YOU MUST DOUBLE PARK, please keep to the school side of the street.
  • DO NOT park in a way that blocks any driveway.
  • DO NOT allow your children to exit on the street side of your vehicle; have children exit on the safer sidewalk side of your vehicle.
  • DO NOT speed in our neighborhood.

If traffic issues continue, the Jersey City Police Department will be asked to monitor our street and ticket violators.

We appreciate your cooperation in keeping our neighborhood safe and in maintaining positive relationships with area residents.

If you would like to lobby the city to allow our school to have drop-off zones, we welcome your help.  We have tried for many years and have been unsuccessful. Please contact Candace Osborne, our Ward E City Council representative: cosborne@jcnj.org / 201-547-5315

**********

Upper School: Students’ indoor shoes should be athletic shoes so they may participate freely in PE and other activities.   Please do not send Crocs or other open-back shoes as your child’s indoor shoes, since they are not appropriate for physical activity.

**********

Send Our Theatre Teachers to the Tony Awards®!  Let’s Nominate Ms. Cristina and Ms. Lisa!

Each spring the Tony Awards® and Carnegie Mellon University invite theatre lovers to tell the story of extraordinary theatre teachers who have made a difference in their lives and the lives of others.  Students, parents and other members of the public may submit candidates for the 2016 Excellence in Theatre Education Award, which honors an active K-12 theatre educator in the US.  The winning teacher will receive their Award at the 70th annual Tony Awards on June 12th, be acknowledged on the CBS telecast and more!

Honor the people who inspire new generations of theatre artists — tell them the story of our remarkable teachers today!  To submit a candidate and get more information, visit:  www.TonyAwards.com/educationaward

Deadline for all application materials: February 29, 2016.

**********

As always, we are glad to have your family as part of our Waterfront Montessori community.

Chris Viteznik, Communications Director

parents@waterfrontmontessori.com

_________

Calendar Notes:

Monday February 8 – Chinese New Year

Friday February 12 – School closed, Faculty Planning Day

Monday February 15 – School closed, Presidents’ Day

Thursday February 18 – Parent Coffee, Floor 1

Friday February 19 – LE/UE Open Friday

Thursday March 3 - Parent Coffee, Floor 2

Friday March 4 - School closed, NJMAC Conference

Monday March 7 and Tuesday March 8 - Parent-Teacher Conferences

Wednesday March 9 through Saturday March 12 - MMUN

Sunday March 13 - Daylight Savings Time begins

Thursday March 17 - Parent Coffee, Floor 1

Friday March 18 - LE/UE Open Friday; Last Day Before Spring Break

Monday March 21 through Friday April 1 - School closed, Spring Break

Friday March 25 - Good Friday

Sunday March 27 - Easter

Monday April 4 - School resumes; Upper School begins Intensive Rehearsals for Annual School Musical: The Lion King!

Member Login
Welcome, (First Name)!

Forgot? Show
Log In
Enter Member Area
My Profile Log Out